South Canterbury

Representing South Canterbury Farmers

Federated Farmers South Canterbury represents local farmers' views at three district councils and one regional council. The main issues in our province are the Resource Management Act and how it is being interpreted, the lack of profitability of sheep farming, water availability and the surge in compliance costs. The main issues in our province are transmission lines on private property, water quantity and quality issues and of course the Resource Management Act and how it is being interpreted.

For more on policy in your region click here

South Canterbury Provincial Contacts

Mark Adams

President 
T: 03 685 8184
M: 027 685 8184
E: rocklands@kinect.co.nz

Ryan O'Sullivan

Vice-president & Dairy Chairperson
T: 03 685 5819
M: 021 855 829
E: ryan.osullivan@farmside.co.nz

Ivon Hurst

Immediate Past President
T: 03 614 7274
M: 027 415 4899
E: iwhurst@hotmail.com

Greg Anderson

Meat & Fibre Chairperson 
M: 027 685 4846
E: gregsandyanderson@gmail.com

Michael Porter

Arable Chairperson 
T: 03 612 6843
M: 021 221 0905
E: theporters@farmside.co.nz

Andrew Simpson

High Country Chairperson
T: 03 680 6834
E: andrew@thecairns.co.nz

Dr Lionel Hume

Senior Policy Advisor
M: 027 470 9008
E: lhume@fedfarm.org.nz

Bob Douglas

Regional Policy Advisor (High Country)
T: 03 688 4096
M: 021 622 822
E: bdouglas@fedfarm.org.nz

Nick Abbott

Territory Manager 
T: 0800 327 646
M: 021 805 788
E: nabbott@fedfarm.org.nz

Tom Henderson
Treasurer
T: 03 688 9664
E: tomcelia@xtra.co.nz
John Gregan
Dairy Vice-chairperson
T: 03 689 5514
M: 027 616 3901
E: johngregan@farmside.co.nz
Colin Hurst
Resources Chairperson
T: 03 689 5898
M: 027 689 5898
E: colin.hurst@xtra.co.nz
David Hewson
Rural Support Chairperson
T: 03 612 6367
E: hewson@farmside.co.nz
Matt Simpson
Fairlie Branch Chairperson
T: 03 685 5733
E: ranui@ruralzone.net

Andrew Simpson
Mackenzie Branch Chairperson
T: 03 680 6834
M: 021 306 229
E: andrew@thecairns.co.nz
John Gregan
Waimate Branch Chairperson
T: 03 689 5514
M: 027 616 3901
E: johngregan@farmside.co.nz