Wairarapa

Representing Wairarapa farmers

The Wairarapa Province of Federated Farmers incorporates Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa districts, as well as Kapiti Coast and Wellington areas.  Agriculture is the major source of income and employment in the Wairarapa, despite the growth of tourism, wine-making, manufacturing and the services industry. Sheep stations along the eastern hill country, which used to primarily produce wool, have given up large areas to forestry.

Wairarapa sheep and beef cattle farmers on lower lying land have adopted more intensive farming systems to stay economically viable. Dairy farms, found mostly in southern Wairarapa, are adopting new technology and increasing herd sizes. Areas with poorer pasture and gravelly soil along the central river system are now being used for grapes.

Wairarapa is often targeted as a showcase for international visitors being the closest farming district to New Zealand's capital and government hub, Wellington.

Federated Farmers works constructively with local councils and the Greater Wellington Regional Council, on issues across water and the environment.

For more on policy in your region click here

Events

Navigating an unknown future - AWDT event in Masterton
Monday, 18 November

Provincial Newsletters

View the latest newsletter here

Wairarapa Provincial Contacts

William Beetham

President
T: 06 372 2546
M: 027 600 0777
E: waifedspresident@gmail.com
 

Adam Giddens

Dairy Chair and Sharemilkers' Section Chair
T: 06 379 7354
M: 027 318 7986
E: giddens.adam@gmail.com
 

Peter Allen

Sharemilker Farm Owners' Chair
T: 06 307 7848
M: 027 618 7065
E: peterjtallan@gmail.com
 

Mike Butterick

Meat & Wool Chair
T: 06 378 7159
M: 027 357 7945
E: butterick@ruralinzone.net
 

Henry Reynolds

Arable Chair
M: 027 783 6166
E: henryreynolds@gmail.com

Liz McGruddy

Senior Policy Advisor
T: 04 494 9186
M: 027 217 6732
E: emcgruddy@fedfarm.org.nz

 

Tammy Cooper
Territory Manager

T: 0800 327 646
M: 027 217 6744
E: tcooper@fedfarm.org.nz

Executive

Mike Taylor
Secretary    
06 372 3700
027 462 6260
beaumaris@wise.net.nz
David Hayes
Treasurer
  027 606 0190
Davidhayesnz@gmail.com
Leo Vollebregt
TBFree
06 304 9173
  Irvoll@xtra.co.nz
Andres Crofoot   
Fire Delegate   
06 372 6465
 
anders@castlepoint.co.nz
Robin Murray
  06 377 3277
027 476 2467
robin.murray@xtra.co.nz
Jamie Falloon
  06 372 4805
027 490 7390
jamieFalloon@xtra.co.nz
Hamish McDonald  
  06 372 7541
  tewera@outlook.com
Sally Bosch
  06 306 8981
  wsbosch@xtra.co.nz
Roger Barton
  06 304 9495
025 415 168
rogbar@xtra.co.nz
John Carrad
  04 239 9701
  wairaka153@yahoo.co.nz
Stewart Barton
  06 308 8458
021 308 856
barton.s@xtra.co.nz
Ashley Greer
YFC Contact
  027 453 5043
ashgreer@gmail.com