Representing Wairarapa farmers

The Wairarapa Province of Federated Farmers incorporates Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa districts, as well as Kapiti Coast and Wellington areas.  Agriculture is the major source of income and employment in the Wairarapa, despite the growth of tourism, wine-making, manufacturing and the services industry. Sheep stations along the eastern hill country, which used to primarily produce wool, have given up large areas to forestry.

Wairarapa sheep and beef cattle farmers on lower lying land have adopted more intensive farming systems to stay economically viable. Dairy farms, found mostly in southern Wairarapa, are adopting new technology and increasing herd sizes. Areas with poorer pasture and gravelly soil along the central river system are now being used for grapes.

Wairarapa is often targeted as a showcase for international visitors being the closest farming district to New Zealand's capital and government hub, Wellington.

Federated Farmers works constructively with local councils and the Greater Wellington Regional Council, on issues across water and the environment.

For more on policy in your region click here

Wairarapa Provincial Contacts

 

David Hayes

President
M: 027 606 0190
E: waifedspresident@gmail.com
 

Adam Giddens

Dairy Chair and
Sharemilkers' Section Chair

M: 027 318 7986
E: giddens.adam@gmail.com
 

Mike Butterick

Meat & Wool Chair
M: 027 357 7945
E: butterick@rualinzone.net
 

Henry Reynolds

Arable Chair
M: 027 783 6166
E: henryreynolds@gmail.com
 

Michael Taylor

Provincial Support
T: 06 372 3700
M: 027 462 6260
E:  beaumaris@wise.net.nz

Liz McGruddy

Senior Policy Advisor
T: 04 494 9186
M: 027 217 6732

Salli Baldock

Provincial Sales & Engagement Advisor
T: 0800 327 646
M: 021 521 230

Executive

Mike Taylor
Secretary    
06 372 3700
027 462 6260
beaumaris@wise.net.nz
Robyn Cornford
Treasurer
  027 778 9876
robyn@bluecarbon.co.nz 
Leo Vollebregt
Wairarapa Water Resilience Strategy   
06 304 9173
  Irvoll@xtra.co.nz
Andres Crofoot   
OSPRI (TB & NAIT) and Fire Delegate   
06 372 6465
 
anders@castlepoint.co.nz
Robin Murray
  06 377 3277
027 476 2467
robin.murray@xtra.co.nz
Jamie Falloon
  06 372 4805
027 490 7390
jamieFalloon@xtra.co.nz
Hamish McDonald  
  06 372 7541
  tewera@outlook.com
Sally Bosch
  06 306 8981
  wsbosch@xtra.co.nz
Roger Barton
  06 304 9495
025 415 168
rogbar@xtra.co.nz
John Carrad
  04 239 9701
  wairaka153@yahoo.co.nz
Stewart Barton
  06 308 8458
021 308 856
barton.s@xtra.co.nz
Sarah Crofoot

  027 431 7626

William Beetham      027 600 0777  *
*The Federated Farmers style for staff and elected officials’ email addresses is – first initial surname@fedfarm.org.nz e.g. fdagg@fedfarm.org.nz